i1 Supercar Series unveils Driver Line-Up for Inaugural Season

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Machdar Motorsports today officially launched the much anticipated i1 Supercar Series at Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi by unveiling an impressive list of drivers who will participate in the series. Drivers in the inaugural i1 Supercar Series will include 1997 Formula One Champion Jacques Villeneuve, 2011 Formula One drivers Vitantonio Liuzzi and Karun Chandhok, and former F1 race winners Giancarlo Fisichella, Heinz-Harald Frentzen and Jean Alesi. Apart from the international drivers, the Indian drivers include Armaan Ebrahim, Aditya Patel and Parthiva Sureswaren.  Darshan M, CEO, i1 Super Series also announced the FIA approved calendar for the series with the first race to be held in Sepang, Malaysia on January 22, 2012.  

A visibly excited Darshan M, CEO, i1 Super Series said: “This is a big moment for us as we confirm our drivers and calendar for the inaugural season. As promised we have a fantastic line-up of proven international race winners mixed with young Indian drivers. The drivers had their experience of the Radical SR3 today at the Yas Marina Circuit and we will work closely with them to make the car even better. We are also proud to announce that we will have two women on the grid who will comprise one team. With the first race being confirmed for January 22 in Malaysia, the countdown starts now.”   

There will be a driver pool of 27 drivers with 18 drivers being chosen for each race weekend. The drivers for each race weekend will be chosen by the teams themselves. The i1 Supercar Series announced the women line-up on the grid with Indycar driver Pippa Mann and Cyndie. Other drivers confirmed for the series include former F1 drivers Sakon Yamamoto, Alex Yoong, Red Bull demo driver Neel Jani and former Ferrari and Sauber driver Mika Salo.

i1 Supercar Series Calendar:

January 21/22 – Sepang, Malaysia,

February 3/4 – Sakhir, Bahrain,

February 10/11 – Losail, Qatar,

February 25/26 – Buddh International Circuit (BIC), India

March 9/10 – Yas Marina, Abu Dhabi, UAE

 International Drivers

Jacques Villeneuve

Giancarlo Fisichella

Vitantonio Liuzzi

Karun Chandhok

Jean Alesi

Heinz-Harald Frentzen

Alex Yoong

Sakon Yamamoto

Mika Salo

Pippa Mann

 Indian and International drivers

Neel Jani

Armaan Ebrahim

Parthiva Sureswaren

Zaamin Jaffer

Mathias Lauda

Aditya Patel

Akhil Khushlani

Phiroze Billmoria

Cyndie Allemann

 Indian drivers

Gaurav Dalal

Ashwin Sundar

Vishnu Prasad

Chirag Malhotra

Abdul Ahmed

Raj Bharath

Ameya Walavalkar

Sahil Shealr

Amritajit Ghosh

Sailesh Bolisetti


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s